2013 Leftovers

lazyrabbit

Took a couple weeks or so off from my keyboard over the holiday break and it has been hard to get back to it. Turns out I have an amazing capacity for slothfulness (who knew?) So following are some leftover musings about nothing very much in particular:

Pelini: I’ve never been a Bo guy; he seems to be made almost entirely of snarls and profanity, with a heaping helping of idiopathic hatefulness thrown in. I’m no football guru (like Cosell, I never played the game) but I’ve always felt strongly that a coach, first and foremost, has to be a good teacher – a role model – someone who kids want to emulate. Wellllll – ole Bo might know X’s and O’s (though even that is becoming less and less obvious), but a shining example of decency and congeniality he ain’t. Call me old-fashioned but I still believe that goodness follows goodness – and I don’t see much of that in our Head Ball Coach. Let me put it this way – if I had a son who was a four star football recruit, I would do everything in my power to steer him away from Lincoln and the toxic atmosphere that hangs over Pelini like a shroud. In my opinion Bo shouldn’t be allowed within 1000 yards of anyone under the age of 21. With any luck, one of these days soon he will bite himself in a fit of rage and be hauled off to the Home for the Terminally PO’d, there to spend his days spitting obscenities and foaming at the mouth.

Obamacare: Quite possibly the last gasp of the Liberal Leftish Loblolly. This horrible legislation will of course fail, likely in spectacular fashion. The only question(s) left to be answered involve exactly what form the death throes of Obamism will take, and to what extent will the Progressive forces be gutted. Too soon to tell, but I wouldn’t want to be a Democrat for the next few to several years. Nor a Republican, as I think about it (but for somewhat different reasons).

Liberty: Over the past couple of years, I have become increasingly more interested in and supportive of what is generally referred to as the Liberty Movement. Please know that I speak not of those groups known as the Tea Party, nor Libertarians, nor Constitutionalists, or what have you, though each of those may embody aspects of the Liberty Movement. Currently at least, the LM seems to me to be a diffuse and only very loosely organized universe of folks whose primary interests are personal liberty, adherence to the Constitution, small government, sensible tax policy,  respect for private property, and fiscal responsibility. Rather than being subject to one or two over-arching and hyper-organized boards or bodies, the LM can be more usefully thought of as being characterized by hundreds of groups, organizations, clubs, etc., each interested in a fairly narrow spectrum of issues that comport with the overall LM philosophical direction. In other words, a true grass-roots effort, answerable only to a collective group consciousness, able and willing to further whatever liberty-related issue(s) they may wish. There are a bevy of groups around – here is a short list of some of those whose specific thrust is utilizing our own Constitution to rein in an out-of-control federal government:

http://spectator.org/blog/56435/mount-vernon-assembly-constitutional-convention

http://www.journalgazette.net/article/20131114/LOCAL0202/131119679

http://redmillennial.com/2013/12/08/state-legislators-discuss-convention-of-states-at-mount-vernon-assembly/

http://www.articlevcaucus.com/

http://freemktmonkey.com/2013/11/23/mount-vernon-assembly-december-7-2013-confluence-of-forces-for-freedom/

Talk radio: Am I the only person on the planet who thinks talk radio hosts (all of them, from the leftiest Leftist to the screechiest neo-con) should be outlawed and declared dangerous to our mental health? I still  occasionally listen to Mark Steyn because he is quite possibly the funniest man who ever lived (if you discount Lou Costello, Jonathan Winters and Ron White), but even Steyn all too often strays into the uber-ideological demagoguing that is at best an embarrassment and at worst borders on hate speech. I don’t mean to insist that all talking heads become Mr. Rogers, but for heaven’s sake, can’t they dial it back to where their haranguing doesn’t set my living room curtains on fire?

Nebraska Unicameral: I will have more to say about this subject in future posts; several weeks ago I queried each of our state Senators about their interest in or knowledge of the current effort afoot among many state legislators in other states to examine the process of amending the US Constitution via the so-called “Article V” process – to date I have received a grand total of 5 responses. 5 out of 49 – I guess the other 44 have been too busy (even though the Unicameral has not been in session since last summer). Anyway, as I said … about which more later.

 

 

About Ed Stevens

retired geezer; paleo-crypto-apocalypto-reactio-conservative; I have no interest in and no time for facile "compromise" or "coming together" - the difference between right and wrong is pretty clear. I'd rather be carried from the field on my shield than wind up polishing the armor of my enemies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

